Inside The Lafayette House Bed & Breakfast
We were recently featured on the local news station Wood TV 8’s, morning show eightWest. Here’s a little sneak peak about the home and our story.
Built in 1874, by Emmon Ware (Ware & Tucker Lumber Company) and his wife, Melissa, this house has a varied history. The Wares lived in the home until 1886. There followed some “mystery years” until 1892, when the house was purchased as a parsonage by Park Congregational Church. In 1910, the home was sold to Edward Frick, vice-president of Judson’s Groceries (located in the building currently occupied by the B.O.B.). The home was eventually purchased by Ron and Nikki Hoort in the late 70’s. By then, this single family home had been divided and rented as three apartments for almost 40 years. Extensive renovation was required to return the home to a single family home.
This federal style home has noteworthy features including a Dutch bonnet over the entryway, columns framing the front door and extensive use of leaded windows throughout the home. The main living room has 13-foot ceilings and its original crown molding. The formal dining room features a dome ceiling with an antique chandelier. Come experience everything this lovely home has to offer.
Todd & Skyelar Hoort
In 2011, we were given the opportunity to move into The Lafayette House. As frequent travelers, we quickly realized the potential our family home had to become a great Bed & Breakfast. From that point on, we transitioned the home interior to be suitable for guests. In late 2013, we were able to open our doors to the public. The Lafayette House offers a memorable experience by providing a comfortable and unique atmosphere. Come stay with us!